Because no single document is the shisha-charcoal standard, the useful question is not "which certificate" but "what is good, how is it measured, and how do I check it." The sections below answer each in turn — and Mulia Charcoal grades its own ash content in three tiers so "good" has a number, not an adjective.
Quick answer
Is there a formal quality standard for shisha charcoal?
No: no single formal standard governs shisha charcoal quality, so Mulia Charcoal writes every order against contractual ash bands of 1.6–2.8% by grade and publishes the measured figures from 2 independent lab reports, Beckjorindo S69863 (2026-06-20) and Carsurin 125856 (2026-07-12). Quality is judged on three lenses: laboratory-measured composition, observed performance (burn time and ash color), and independent verification, a Certificate of Analysis and a third-party laboratory report with every container.
Quality at a glance
The headline numbers a wholesale buyer checks first — composition, burn, composition purity, the proof that ships with the order, and how to verify it yourself.
- Ash content
- 1.6–2.8% by grade, Platinum lowest, Premium highest (contractual)
- Burn time
- ≥ 2–2.5 hours by grade (contractual)
- Calorific value
- ≥ 7,000–7,500 kcal/kg by grade (contractual)
- Moisture
- ≤ 6% for every grade (contractual)
- Composition
- No chemical additives or igniting accelerants — natural tapioca starch binder only.
- Reports per order
- COA + third-party lab report, every container
- Certifications held
- ISO 9001:2015
- Verify it yourself
- Request a sample to test the specs
1. How shisha charcoal quality is evaluated
Quality begins with the raw material. Mulia Charcoal presses 100% coconut shell charcoal — no wood, no sawdust filler — carbonized and then briquetted with a natural tapioca starch binder. What the shell gives up in carbonization is what the lab later measures: how much non-combustible mineral is left (ash), how much carbon remains to burn (fixed carbon), and how much moisture and volatile matter went into the press.
From there, quality splits into three lenses. Laboratory-measured composition fixes the numbers — ash, fixed carbon, moisture, volatile matter, and calorific value. Observed performance describes how the coal behaves in a session — burn time and ash color — indicators read under defined conditions rather than to a laboratory standard. Independent verification closes the loop: a Certificate of Analysis and a third-party laboratory report accompany the shipment, so the buyer is not asked to take the numbers on trust.
- Mulia Charcoal coconut shell shisha charcoal cubes with silver-white ash visible after burning
Silver-white ash — the low-residue burn of a Platinum-grade ash content. - Burn-and-ash demonstration of Mulia Charcoal coconut charcoal showing minimal tray residue
A burn-and-ash demonstration under defined session conditions. - Laboratory testing of Mulia Charcoal coconut charcoal — furnace, calorimeter, and analytical scale
Laboratory testing — ash furnace, bomb calorimeter, and analytical scale. - Certificate of Analysis
A Certificate of Analysis accompanies every container.
2. The three-tier ash grading framework
Ash content is the single clearest differentiator in shisha charcoal — lower ash means a cleaner burn, less tray residue, and better airflow. Mulia Charcoal grades its coconut shell charcoal into three ash tiers, named for its product grades:
| Grade | Ash band | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Platinum | 1.6–2.0% | Cleanest burn — minimal tray residue and the best airflow; the premium tier for shisha use. |
| Super Premium | 2.0–2.5% | A clean, reliable burn for everyday shisha service. |
| Premium | 2.5–2.8% | Higher residue than the upper tiers; a value option still within common quality bounds. |
Mulia Charcoal's flagship grade sits in the Platinum band at 1.6–2.0% ash. We produce all three grades — Premium 2.5–2.8% · Super Premium 2.0–2.5% · Platinum 1.6–2.0% — so the figure that applies to your container is the one for the grade you order, not the range.
Note
This is Mulia Charcoal's own evaluation rubric, not an industry or ISO standard — there is no codified shisha-charcoal ash grade. The bands are contractual: they are what an order is written and accepted against, not measured data. The laboratory reports we hold state no grade, so they cannot place a measured figure inside any single band.
3. Specifications: measured and contractual
Tier A below is the envelope actually measured by the independent laboratory reports we hold — not a factory-wide target. Tier B is burn time, an observed indicator rather than a laboratory measurement, shown by grade (contractual). The exact figures for your container are the ones on its own certificate of analysis.
| Parameter | Value |
|---|---|
| Ash content | 1.38–1.62% (measured, grade not stated) |
| Fixed carbon | 83.35–86.78% (measured, grade not stated) |
| Moisture content | 3.9–4.1% (measured, grade not stated) |
| Volatile matter | 7.94–10.93% (measured, grade not stated) |
| Calorific value | 7,600 kcal/kg (measured, grade not stated) |
| Parameter | Value |
|---|---|
| Burn time | ≥ 2–2.5 hours by grade (contractual) |
Note
Tier A values are the range across 2 independent laboratory reports: Beckjorindo S69863 (2026-06-20) and Carsurin 125856 (2026-07-12). Proximate analysis by ASTM D1762.
Neither report states which grade was sampled, so these figures describe the product as tested and cannot be attributed to any one grade. The three ash bands above are contractual.
The test method behind the calorific figure is not yet confirmed with either laboratory; it is reported here as it appears on the reports.
Composition: No chemical additives or igniting accelerants — natural tapioca starch binder only.
- Each laboratory value is produced by a defined test method — see how each parameter is measured
- Every container is independently verified — the certifications we hold and the reports we provide
- Prefer to check for yourself? Request a sample and test the specs
4. What the numbers mean
Specifications explained covers what each parameter is, which direction is good, and what a strong value looks like for shisha use — the buyer-facing "is this good?" question.
- Each of the 7 parameters is defined in plain terms, grouped by laboratory-measured (Tier A) versus observed (Tier B).
- The benchmark question — "what is a good ash content?" — is answered with the three-tier framework above, not a single number.
5. How it is measured
Testing methods covers the laboratory procedure behind every figure — the equipment, the standard where one is confirmed, and which parameters an independent lab checks on each shipment.
- Laboratory parameters use defined methods: ash by ASTM D1762-84(2021), proximate analysis by ASTM D1762-84(2021).
- An independent third-party laboratory (Carsurin) tests ash content, moisture, fixed carbon, volatile matter on every container.
6. How it is proven
Certifications separates what Mulia Charcoal holds (formal third-party certifications) from what it provides per order (a Certificate of Analysis and an independent lab report) — a distinction competitors routinely blur.
- Held: ISO 9001:2015, certified by TÜV Rheinland.
- Provided per order: a Certificate of Analysis and a third-party laboratory report with every container.
Every container ships with a Certificate of Analysis stating the measured values for that batch, plus an independent third-party laboratory report. And before you commit, you can verify the specifications yourself.
See the full ledger of certifications held and reports provided Request a sample to test the specs yourself
7. Isn't "no single standard" just a way to avoid being held to one?
Note
A buyer is entitled to be suspicious of any supplier who opens with "there is no formal standard." In practice, that framing is sometimes a shield: with no external authority to enforce a definition, a factory can label anything "premium," quote a flattering ash figure, and never be audited against it. The objection is genuinely valid whenever a quality claim is an adjective — "clean burn," "low ash," "best grade" — carrying no number, no test method, and no document a customs broker or QC lab could check.
It holds against suppliers who blur the line this page itself names — presenting a certification they merely hold (an ISO badge, a Halal mark) as if it certified the batch in the container, or quoting an ash percentage with no method and no third-party report behind it. Against that kind of seller, "no single standard" really does mean "trust me."
This factory answers the objection by attaching a number and a method to every claim. Ash is not described as "low" but graded in three named bands by actual percentage — Platinum (1.6–2.0%), Super Premium (2.0–2.5%), Premium (2.5–2.8%). The rubric is openly disclaimed as the factory's own evaluation, not an ISO or industry standard, so the buyer is never misled about its status. And the numbers are not self-asserted: a third-party laboratory (Carsurin, Beckjorindo or SGS) tests ash, moisture, fixed carbon, and volatile matter on every container; a Certificate of Analysis stating the measured values for that specific batch ships with each shipment; and a sample is available to test the specs before you commit. The held-versus-provided distinction — ISO 9001:2015 as a standing certification, COA and lab report as per-order proof — is kept explicit precisely because conflating them is the trick the objection warns about. "No single standard" is not the absence of accountability here; it is the reason the proof has to ride with the goods rather than hang on a wall.
Quality standards — frequently asked questions
What standards define shisha charcoal quality?
What makes coconut shell charcoal high quality?
What is the ash content of your charcoal?
How long does your charcoal burn?
Answered on another page: What certifications do you hold? · What is a Certificate of Analysis (COA)? · Are your test reports independent?